Saint Patrick´s Day Special: My Favourite Irish

17 Mar

Ian
Ian is a teacher and ex-colleague of mine, one of the first people I met when I arrived in Spain. While car-pooling to teach company classes in the port of Valencia (where you actually get to drive on the race track, how cool is that), we´d be cracking the silliest jokes while his little car radio would be blasting old-school songs from Carole King to Soulsister. (Yes, my Belgian friends, Soulsister!) He was one of the first people that made me feel at home in this new country, something I´ll be forever grateful for.

Marian Keyes
Marian Keyes is a writer whose novels are generally written in a light and humorous tone, although the themes she deals with are often dark and controversial (alcoholism, domestic violence, depression, to name a few). I guess it´s this combination that makes her work so addictive. I started reading her after I´d come across a secondhand copy of The Brightest Star In The Sky, which I bought for less than a pound at a jumble sale in a little Welsh village.
I usually grab one of her thick books when I´m struggling through another, much thinner book, and then I always end up finishing her book first.

Hozier
I accidentally came across a youtube-cover of “Take me To Church”, and that´s how I got to know this Irish singer-songwriter. (I just found out from his wikipedia-page that today is his 26th birthday -synchronicity! Always a good sign.) Allergic as I am to simplified tunes and uninspired lyrics (see Supermarket Serenade), I immediately fell for the soul and poetry of his work.

So: long live the Irish!

And a happy Saint Patrick´s Day to you all.

 

 

 

3 Responses to “Saint Patrick´s Day Special: My Favourite Irish”

  1. prinses op de kikkererwt March 17, 2016 at 21:13 #

    🙂 en hier kwam een Spaanse lekkernij mijn dag goed maken. Dankje! x

    • Kathleen March 18, 2016 at 09:56 #

      Amai, dat is rap aangekomen! Enjoy 🙂

  2. Joke March 21, 2016 at 16:29 #

    Lang leve Hozier – aangezien ik de rest niet ken 😉

Leave a Reply

