You´ve Been… Alfonsified

19 Mar

So I´m working on the computer, while my husband is chasing bandits on the Playstation.
Suddenly he says: “You know, I was thinking…”

“Yes?” I say.

But no answer comes.

I take my hands from the keyboard and turn my chair towards him.
“What were you thinking?”

“I was thinking,” he resumes, his eyes still fixed on the tv screen, “I might go to the supermarket to…”

Then silence again.

“…to…” I prod.

“… to buy…”

“…to buy what?”
Now that I´ve interrupted my work, I might as well get to the bottom of this.

His fingers keep clicking away at the controller, and he´s still intensely gazing at the screen, when he makes another attempt at finishing his sentence.

“… to buy a thing…”

At this point my frustration turns into fascination.

“Really?” I tell him. “You want to go to the supermarket to buy a thing?”

He grins, but the mystery remains.

It takes me three more questions (“What do you want to buy?”, “What´s the message here?” and “Can you please finish your sentence?”) to lead this Echternach conversation to a satisfying conclusion.

“… to buy some wine,” he says at last. “I was thinking a glass of wine would be nice.”

“Yes,” I say. “That would be very nice indeed.”

They say that to keep a marriage alive, you have to keep talking.
Score for us.

 

 

6 Responses to “You´ve Been… Alfonsified”

  1. Myriam Dings March 19, 2016 at 13:12 #

    Anyway, it is still a positive thing to have a husband who IS thinking :-p

    • Kathleen March 19, 2016 at 14:09 #

      …and funny at the same time 🙂

  2. derrickjknight March 19, 2016 at 13:37 #

    Multitasking is not his thing

    • Kathleen March 19, 2016 at 14:11 #

      Guess I´ve got myself a real man 😉

  3. Joke March 21, 2016 at 16:31 #

    Dat klinkt als een veelbelovende, romantische avond 😉

    • Kathleen March 22, 2016 at 08:49 #

      😀
      Het werd een avond met wijn voor hem, en een doosje mikado´s (die koekjes met chocola) voor mij, dus dat is inderdaad niet slecht uitgedraaid!

Leave a Reply

