Dreamjob

9 Jul

A year or two ago, when I had just started writing short stories, I passed by the library and thought: “Wouldn´t it be great to be a writer? Dropping off my daughter at school in the morning, going to the library to write for a few hours and then pick her up again for lunch? What a perfect job that would be.”

This summer I decided to hire myself for my dreamjob. Just for a month and without any pay, but oh, how nice it is… Every morning I go to the library and I write. It doesn´t matter when I come in, it doesn´t matter when I leave, there are no deadlines and nobody´s assessing me. It´s only me and the story that wants to be told. I don´t know if I´ll be able to finish it, and if so, if it will ever be published. But I´m writing and I´m happy doing it, and that was the whole point.

They say “don´t push your luck”, but there´s nothing against gently ushering it in the right direction.

DSC_1644

11 Responses to “Dreamjob”

  1. canxatard July 9, 2015 at 19:43 #

    I´m writing and I´m happy doing it 🙂

    • Kathleen July 9, 2015 at 20:00 #

      It´s so nice to have a colleague like you! 🙂

  2. prinses op de kikkererwt July 9, 2015 at 20:26 #

    Mooi! Als je feedback wil :), lees ik graag mee over je schouder. Wat ongelooflijk knap dat je jezelf de tijd en gelegenheid gunt!

    • Kathleen July 10, 2015 at 11:49 #

      Dankjewel, da´s heel fijn 🙂 Als ik genoeg heb bijeengeschreven ga ik zeker nalezers nodig hebben. dan zal je wel van me horen 🙂

  3. migrainepuzzlepieces July 10, 2015 at 00:34 #

    You’re so gonna do it!

    • Kathleen July 10, 2015 at 11:50 #

      Thanks for the support 🙂

      • migrainepuzzlepieces July 10, 2015 at 13:12 #

        You’re a great writer, you love to write and you’re setting aside time to do it. You’ve got all the ingredients for a best seller :).

  4. myriam July 10, 2015 at 08:10 #

    My brave girl 🙂
    You never knew, but when I was a child, I had the same dream…
    And now, it is so nice to read your stories!

  5. lecoeuràmaréebasse July 15, 2015 at 10:01 #

    dat is nog eens een goei investering! ga er voor (maar vooral: geniet ervan!!!!)

    • Kathleen July 15, 2015 at 13:08 #

      Dankjewel! Genieten is geen probleem, in de bib hebben ze airco 😉

Leave a Reply

