The Blanket Skirt: What Friends Are For

24 Nov

I had a piece of blue tartan fabric lying around and sewed it into a skirt –plain and rough, more for practise (see item 12 on the list) than fashion. But I wear it anyway.

Now there´s a woman I know, really pretty with long black hair, always dressed smartly. When she saw my skirt, she started laughing.

“Is that a blanket you´re wearing?” she grinned.

I explained her that it wasn´t, that I had sewn it myself. Showed her how amateurishly the zipper had been installed.

“Oh,” she said.

That evening I looked at the skirt again and realised that, yes, the fabric was indeed intended for blankets. Whatever, I thought. And the next day I wore it again to take my daughter to school.

When I met up with my friends at the school gate, Ramón pointed at the skirt with a smirk on his face and said: “What are you doing wearing a blanket?”

I just smiled and shrugged my shoulders.

Then suddenly the black-haired woman, who is part of our little group, turned to Ramón and told him off in a stern voice.

“Hey!” she said. “She sewed that skirt herself, you know!”

She was all serious, not a trace of irony.

I hadn´t felt in the least offended by that blanket-remark, but still I thought that was really sweet of her.

 

DSC_0274

4 Responses to “The Blanket Skirt: What Friends Are For”

  1. Myriam Dings November 24, 2015 at 21:11 #

    Van wat Schotten rokken maken, maken anderen dekens… So what?!

  2. canxatard November 25, 2015 at 07:53 #

    Wat een leuke rok en wat een leuke foto. En kleren maken is de beste aandachtsoefening … En wat ben jij veelzijdig.

    • Kathleen November 25, 2015 at 08:23 #

      Da´s een lieve opmerking 🙂 Ik ben er niet zo goed in hoor, echt recht zijn mijn maaksels nooit :p maar het is inderdaad een geweldige oefening in aandacht en concentratie. En rustig blijven en geduld hebben, en stap-voor-stap werken… Ik heb er al veel meer van geleerd dan naaien alleen.

Leave a Reply

