Life Without Facebook

4 Aug

Two months ago I quit facebook cold turkey.

I´m sure for some people facebook is the perfect tool to stay in touch, but for me it felt like driving around in a leaking car, using up so much more petrol than necessary to get somewhere. And the petrol being of course a metaphor for Time. I easily spent an hour a day on facebook, skimming through posts, joining discussions, watching videos of cats falling off couches.

So I redirected the what´s-going-on-in-the-world-part of facebook to subscribing to Upworthy and dewereldmorgen, the let´s-save-the-world to subscribing to Avaaz and Amnesty International, the here-I-am to writing blogposts, the how-are-you to e-mail and blogs from other people, and I simply deleted my facebook account.

For a while I got caught in a kind of rebound-affair with the newly discovered blog world, spending as much time there as I used to do on facebook, but I´m over that now.

On the whole: I´m happier with what I read and happier with what I write.

Not for a single second did I regret. In fact I have less regrets now, because I don´t find myself worrying anymore about things I´ve posted or said on facebook. And how peaceful it is to be looking through stuff on the internet and not having to debate with myself wether I should share it or not.

And I know Big Brother is still watching over my shoulder, but at least I don´t smell his breath in my neck anymore.

5 Responses to “Life Without Facebook”

  1. Myriam Dings August 4, 2015 at 21:07 #

    All is well what ends well!

  2. lecoeuràmaréebasse August 6, 2015 at 06:56 #

    A-MEN. (ik gebruik Facebook amper, maar ik moet dan weer actief van youtube afkicken: best-ofs van man bijt hond en jawel: katten die van zetels donderen, ik blijf dat echt TE GRAPPIG vinden. zal het slaaptekort zijn 🙂

    • Kathleen August 6, 2015 at 18:54 #

      Katten zijn dodelijk grappig! Eigenlijk een fout voorbeeld in deze post, want ik moet al-tijd lachen met die filmpjes, dus ik beschouw ze eigenlijk nooit als tijdverlies. Maar ik heb het er toch ingezet, omdat het, tja, zo grappig klonk natuurlijk 🙂

  3. canxatard August 6, 2015 at 07:17 #

    Het enige wat ik mis, is het kanaal om mijn/onze schrijfsels aan de man/vrouw te brengen. Gelukkig is er azertyfactor, maar misschien moeten we naar nog een paar alternatieven zoeken.

    • Kathleen August 6, 2015 at 18:57 #

      Dat is waar. Ik heb het via mail geprobeerd, maar dat had toch niet hetzelfde effect. Hoewel ik op facebook ook het idee had dat maar een fractie van mijn “vreindenbestand” die posts zag, En hoe minder ik er zelf op zat, hoe minder mensen mijn posts te zien kregen, had ik de indruk. Ideeën voor alternatieven altijd welkom!

Leave a Reply

