Supermarket Serenade

3 Nov

I can´t count the times when I fled from a store simply because of the background music. I walk in, become instantly overwhelmed, and just walk out. Or I try to cope, grab some clothes to try on, head for the changing room, and then leave without trying on a single piece, spurting out as if some monster were on my heels. And I know that when afterwards I relate my unhappy adventures I sound like an eighty-year-old. (“It wasn´t music, it was just noise! And why do they put it so loud?” Yes, grandma. Get over it.)

I used to have only one Happy Background Music Memory (“Love me tender” in a secondhand bookstore), but now, I´m delighted to say, I have two.

It happened last week at the supermarket. I was trying to decide what brand of cereal to buy (another high score on the grandma-scale), when I heard flamenco. Live flamenco, sung by a booming male voice. Following the trail of sound I arrived at the supermarket´s fish department. The South-American saleswoman who always smiles and puts extra parsley with my salmon, had come from behind the stalls with fish and crushed ice and was standing in the aisle. Before her were three men, all dressed in the same darkblue tracksuit. Jobmates, I suppose. They looked like they had been driving around in a van and had popped in at the supermarket to get a snack for on the road.

The tallest of the three, a slender, grey-haired guy, who looked more like a retired James Bond than a gypsy, had gone down on one knee in front of the saleswoman.
Esa mujer,” he sang, with that typical flamenco vibrato. The whole department vibrated along with his love song. The woman smiled -she always smiles, but this man had managed to make her smile even wider. When he had finished, he got up and they chatted a little, like the old friends they probably were.

Nothing like a decent bit of serenade to lighten up your shopping.

5 Responses to “Supermarket Serenade”

  1. Myriam Dings November 3, 2015 at 22:21 #

    Nou moe! Ik sta perplex, dat zoiets zomaar kan, aan de vistoog dan nog wel! Dat zie ik hier nog niet gebeuren 😉

  2. canxatard November 4, 2015 at 08:11 #

    O wat had ik daar willen bij zijn!
    En wat heb je dit mooi en grappig beschreven.

  3. sissi November 5, 2015 at 08:27 #

    heerlijk! geen foto kunnen nemen? Of heb je ook zo’n grandma gsm zoals mij?

    • Kathleen November 5, 2015 at 13:33 #

      Ik had inderdaad ook zo´n bomma gsm bij waar niet eens een camera in zit! Maar die heeft nu net de geest gegeven, dus misschien vanaf volgende week toch een ietwat moderner toestel (tweedehands van Alfonso). Wat voor telefoon heb jij?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Saint Patrick´s Day Special: My Favourite Irish | Alles uit de kast - March 17, 2016

    […] Always a good sign.) Allergic as I am to simplified tunes and uninspired lyrics (see Supermarket Serenade), I immediately fell for the soul and poetry of his […]

Leave a Reply

