Pass The Cambridge Proficiency In English Exam: Check

6 Jan

(Number 5 on the list)
In 2015 I gave myself a useful present: a 40-hour course to prepare myself for the Proficiency in English Exam.

 
I did this for three reasons:
• I love English.
• I´m an English teacher, but not a native speaker. So that certificate will be a great help when I start looking for a job again.
• I´m often asked to prepare people for language exams, so I thought it would be a useful experience doing an exam myself.

So that´s how I got to spend eight Saturdays in a row bent over linguistic exercises. My fellow students were a bunch of bright and brilliant twenty-somethings and one sweet-tempered middle-aged woman. Most of us were strangers to each other, but again that Spanish magic happened, the way I´ve seen it happen so many times before. You put some Spaniards together and within a few hours they will have managed, with the skillful use of casual conversation, to tie a group together that is ready to collectively celebrate Christmas, New Year´s and each other´s birthdays. Whenever I get to be part of that experience, I always feel blessed for living here.

 
Our teacher was a loveable Scottish girl, who repeatedly expressed how sorry she felt for having us all locked up inside on a Saturday evening. But those were needles worries, because it always seemed to fly by.

 
The exam took place at the end of November, in a fancy hotel. It took just about the whole day, hours and hours of intense concentration. I was tired but in full Border Collie mode, so I managed all right.

Today is Three Kings´ Day, which is a big thing in Spain. The Three Wise Men bring presents to all those supposedly well-behaved children, the way Santa Claus/Father Christmas does in the English-speaking world, and Sinterklaas in Belgium, Germany and The Netherlands. But apparently those magic kings also have some leverage with the people at Cambridge, because we´ve just found out that our results are already online.

And I passed!

Thank you, Melchior, Gaspar and Balthasar!

12 Responses to “Pass The Cambridge Proficiency In English Exam: Check”

  1. prinses op de kikkererwt January 6, 2016 at 19:11 #

    You are bright & brilliant too, my dear.

    • Kathleen January 7, 2016 at 10:44 #

      Oooh, my turn to blush :*)
      But really, those guys… I can only dream of one day mastering Spanish the way they speak English. I was very impressed.

  2. canxatard January 6, 2016 at 19:20 #

    Een dikke proficiat, Kathleen!

    • Kathleen January 7, 2016 at 10:46 #

      Merci 🙂 Nu Spaans en Valencià, dat zal een ander paar mouwen worden…

  3. zehatzmehatz January 6, 2016 at 19:47 #

    Congrats!!!

    • Kathleen January 7, 2016 at 10:47 #

      Thanks sweetie 🙂 I kept the book for you!

  4. Myriam Dings January 7, 2016 at 12:15 #

    Mijn Engels is verre van zo goed als het jouwe, dus zeg ik maar in mijn moedertaal: HOERAAAAA, BRAVOOOO, SUPERFORMIWELDIGEINDEFANTAKOLOSACHTIG!!!!
    Al meen ik wel te weten dat het koning CASPAR, was, allé, in mijn moedertaal dan , eh!

  5. Evelien January 9, 2016 at 06:55 #

    Bordertje, een hele dikke proficiat!!! Weeral een hele ervaring en een hele stap vooruit! Je kortverhaal is ook prachtig, maar daar kon ik precies geen commentaar op geven! Heerlijk bedacht en geschreven met de nodige gevatheid! Top!

    • Kathleen January 9, 2016 at 17:54 #

      Dankjewel lieverd! Altijd fijn om op die manier tot in België te geraken 🙂

  6. Joke January 11, 2016 at 18:03 #

    Hiep hiep hoera! Al had ik niets anders verwacht! 😉 LAat die jobs maar komen…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 36 | Alles uit de kast - August 9, 2016

    […] I passed the Cambridge Proficiency in English exam […]

Leave a Reply

