36

9 Aug

For my 36th birthday (which was two weeks ago) I´ve given myself the permission to revise the list I made up last year and alter a few things, since we´re supposed to not only grow older, but also wiser every year.

Here are the things I so far accomplished:

These things will stay on the list:

  • Do a photoshoot with my daughter
  • Write a book
  • Paint a mural
  • Pass the Valencià Mitja exam
  • Read 100 books

That leaves me with 6 goals I feel I should change for more realistic ones.

Going to a music festival seemed like a really fun idea, but I´m afraid I´m simply not made for it. The older I get, the more difficult it becomes for me to feel at ease in a crowd. Instead, I´d like to change this one for two different things that combine certain aspects of the festival experience: one, go camping with my husband and daughter, and two, sing in a bar or out in the street.

To become politically involved in my community I´d have to master the language a lot better than I do now, and I´d have to learn a lot of stuff that´s simply not my cup of tea. Now that we have a new (very young) mayor, I have a slightly better feeling about how things are going here, and I think I should leave the political stuff to the people who know more about it.

Sponsoring a child in another country and working 100 hours as a volunteer seemed like very beautiful and altruistic things to do, but far from realistic for someone who, as a sufferer from aura migraines, keeps losing her job and that way doesn´t even have an income of her own. I should substitute these goals for working out a migraine treatment plan for myself (with the help of this fantastic book). Because you have to take care of yourself before you can take care of others.

I have been sending birthday cards, and I still think it´s a nice thing to do. But apparently nobody cares about birthday cards anymore, and it´s becoming rather expensive, now that the prices have gone up again. Instead, I was thinking of making photo-albums of my daughter´s pictures. I have my photos mostly on the computer, but it´s so much nicer and safer to have them actually printed out.

Having my hair like Jennifer Aniston was a goal that was actually supposed to motivate me to deal with trichotillomania. (Don´t worry, it was never as bad as in that picture.) But I think I made a lot of progress in that field and it doesn´t necessarily have to result in Aniston´s hairdo, because I think I look better with my hair a bit shorter than hers. Instead, I want to focus on another one of my childhood heroines: I´d like to dress up as The Little Mermaid at the local carnival. I already have my daughter´s full support.

That leaves me with 13 goals instead of 14. So I´ll add one more: in addition to reading 100 books, I feel I should brush up on my French and work a bit harder on my Spanish, so of those 100 books, at least 5 should be in French and 5 in Spanish. (Man, we Belgians are very good at giving ourselves homework, aren´t we. Not hard to see where the trichotillomania comes from.)

So this is the new list of things I want to do before I turn 40:

  • Sing at a wedding – check
  • Pass the Cambridge Proficiency in English exam – check
  • Sew a dress for myself – check
  • Do a photoshoot with my daughter
  • Write a book
  • Paint a mural
  • Pass the Valencià Mitja exam
  • Read 100 books
  • Read 5 books in French and 5 in Spanish
  • Go camping with my husband and daughter
  • Sing in a bar or out in the street
  • Work out a migraine treatment plan for myself
  • Making photoalbums for my daughter
  • Dress up as The Little Mermaid at the local carnival

 

Here we go.

4 Responses to “36”

  1. Joke August 15, 2016 at 20:21 #

    Omdat ik net pas je vorige versie heb gelezen en daarop heb gereageerd, hier in het kort: aan nummer 4 wil ik wel bijdragen als je wil, voor moest een professionele sessie niet gauw lukken. En nummer 11 wil ik ook wel ondersteunen, met morele steun of een tweede stem, aan jou de keuze!

    • Kathleen August 16, 2016 at 07:47 #

      Ik ben aan het proberen een gitarist hier in het dorp te mobiliseren tot samenwerking op dat vlak, maar Spanjaarden blijken heel moeilijk te mobiliseren :p We kunnen wel eens iets tweestemmigs proberen, en dat in de straten van Valencia ten berde brengen. En dan met de opbrengst iets gaan drinken/eten (naar gelang de opbrengst) 😉

      • Joke August 16, 2016 at 19:19 #

        Deal! Ik bereid me al voor en tel af!

  2. Trage Gazelle September 22, 2016 at 20:41 #

    I love your new goals better than the ones you ditched!! You go girl …
    And regarding the spanish & french books I strongly recommend ‘el desorden que dejas’ and ‘maman a tort’.

Leave a Reply

