35

25 Jul

Ever since I turned 33 I´ve been feeling like a cosmic countdown has started somewhere. Maximum this many more years to live, if I reach age x I still have that many years left, one third has passed, almost half, etc. Something I had hardly thought about when I was in my teens or twenties. Seeing the numbers go up has therefore become more of a reason for worry than celebration.

A girl I spoke to last month, put me back with my feet on the ground. “The older you get, the more reason you have for celebration,” she said. “It means you got to live that long. People should be happy to celebrate their 40th, 50th,… 80th birthday. Dying young, now THAT is sad.” And although I was secretly thinking You´re only 28, let´s see how you feel about this in a year or four, I knew that she was right.

So another approach towards birthdays seems needed.

Last Saturday I spoke to a friend of mine who had been to a music festival, the second one in his life. He had such a great time there, that he wondered: “Why haven´t I done this more often? I´m already 35.” And I said: “Yes! Same here! I´ve only been to one music festival, can you imagine? Let´s do this more often.” And that´s when I came up with making a list of things I want to do these coming years. It´s not a Bucket List, because I have no intention of “kicking the bucket” any time soon. It´s a list with things I´d like to achieve before I turn 40.

Today is my 35th birthday. That seems like a good day to start.

So I made a list of 14 things I would like to do before I turn 40:

  1. Do a photoshoot with my daughter
  2. Go to a music festival
  3. Read 100 books
  4. Sing at a wedding
  5. Pass the Cambridge Proficiency in English exam
  6. Become politically involved in my community
  7. Have my hair like Jennifer Aniston (will explain this later)
  8. Write a book
  9. Sponsor a child in another country
  10. Work 100 hours as a volunteer
  11. Paint a mural
  12. Sew a dress for myself
  13. Pass the Valencià Mitja exam
  14. Send 100 birthday cards

And of course I will keep you posted on how it works out.

DSC_1646

22 Responses to “35”

  1. canxatard July 25, 2015 at 11:26 #

    Lieve Kathleen, een heel mooie verjaardag! Dikke kussen! En mijn steun heb je voor nr. 8.

    • Kathleen July 25, 2015 at 11:26 #

      Ooh, dankjewel Christine 🙂

  2. MiszTalitha July 25, 2015 at 12:44 #

    Hey jong dinkie 😉 van harte gefeliciteerd met je verjaardag!

    Laat je me weten hoe en wanneer je jennifer aniston haar is gelukt?
    Voor nummer 4 ga ik dan zorgen 😉

    tut fan taliet xo

    • Kathleen July 25, 2015 at 13:39 #

      Hey Talitha, dankjewel! Als dat kapsel lukt, komen er zeker foto´s. En staat er een trouwfeest op stapel…? Wat heerlijk!! Daar komen wij graag een keertje voor naar Nederland 🙂

      • De Letterkoek July 25, 2015 at 15:17 #

        Gelukkige verjaardag, Kathleen!

      • Kathleen July 26, 2015 at 09:00 #

        Dankjewel Antony 🙂

  3. Myriam Dings July 25, 2015 at 17:24 #

    Ik snap niet hoe ik zo ontroerd kan raken door het lijstje van iemand ànders?? Maar toch…
    Nummer 4 hébt ge al gedaan, en hòe! Nummer 5 en nummer 13 moet ge eens uitleggen. Voor nummer negen kan ik Plan hartelijk aanbevelen. – na 30 jaar sta ik er nog vierkant achter.
    Ik sta er wel verbaasd van dat ge nù al bedenkt hoeveel jaren er nog gaan komen – bij mij begon dat pas op mijn 50. Maar na de problemen van een half jaar geleden, wordt het misschien wel hoogtijd dat ik mijn eigen lijstje maak…
    Maar in elk geval supporter ik fél voor dat van u – maar dat weet ge 😉

    • Kathleen July 26, 2015 at 09:03 #

      Ontroering, daar gaan we voor 🙂
      Voor nummer 4 had ik misschien moeten zetten “someone else´s wedding”. En wat 5 en 13 betreft: dat zijn taal-examens. Eerst Engels, hoogste niveau, en dan Valencià, middelste niveau. Enfin, dat is toch de bedoeling.

  4. lecoeuràmaréebasse July 27, 2015 at 12:25 #

    super! best wel ambitieus ook, daar hou ik wel van 🙂 hoe is het in de bib?

    • Kathleen July 27, 2015 at 16:14 #

      Haha, merci 🙂 Ben er vorige week niet meer geraakt, wegens te warm en teveel feestjes :p Maar ik ben wel tevreden met het materiaal dat ik daar al geschreven heb. Straks in België wat opzoekwerk verrichten en er dan in september weer mee verder…

  5. migrainepuzzlepieces July 27, 2015 at 18:28 #

    Great list!!!

  6. sissi August 5, 2015 at 20:59 #

    Ik hoop dat wanneer jouw nummer 8 werkelijkheid wordt, het tussen mijn nr 3 staat 🙂
    wat betreft 9 en 10 kan ik je misschien nog op ideeën brengen…ooit in Chili geweest ?

    • Kathleen August 6, 2015 at 19:05 #

      Oh, da´s lief, Sissi 🙂 Dat wordt zeker een gehandtekend exemplaar!

      Voor 9 en 10 mag je me altijd ideeën geven. Ik heb voorlopig Plan International op het lijstje staan voor zodra ik eens aan vast werk geraak, en als vrijwilligerswerk ben ik hier in Rafel aan het lobbyen om in het Engels voor te komen lezen in de bib -maar dat blijkt nog niet zo simpel om voor elkaar te krijgen :p
      Alle voorstellen zijn welkom, als je een betrouwbare organisatie kent, laat maar weten!

  7. Joke August 15, 2016 at 20:15 #

    Ik lees het nu pas, beetje laat natuurlijk, maar best leuk! Zeker nu nummer 12 gerealiseerd is – check;-) Indien gewenst wil ik ergens de komende zes maanden wel zorgen voor nummer 1. Laat maar weten.
    En verder inspireer je me, zoals zo vaak. Ik ga eens nadenken over iets vergelijkbaar, een eigen versie uiteraard.

    • Kathleen August 16, 2016 at 07:42 #

      Voor die fotoshoot ben ik aan het wachten tot de wallen onder mijn ogen weg zijn, haha 😉 Ik weet niet of dat in een tijdsbestek van zes maanden realiseerbaar is, maar pakt maar gerust uw camera mee!

      • Joke August 16, 2016 at 19:21 #

        Haha! Er bestaat ook nog zoiets als schmink 😉 Ik zal cursus volgen bij mijn schoonzus. :-p

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Blanket Skirt: What Friends Are For | Alles uit de kast - November 24, 2015

    […] fabric lying around and sewed it into a skirt –plain and rough, more for practise (see item 12 on the list) than fashion. But I wear it […]

  2. Pass The Cambridge Proficiency In English Exam: Check | Alles uit de kast - January 6, 2016

    […] 5 on the list) In 2015 I gave myself a useful present: a 40-hour course to prepare myself for the Proficiency in […]

  3. Sew A Dress For Myself: Check | Alles uit de kast - July 26, 2016

    […] 12 on the list. Cost me blood, sweat and tears, and a lot of creative adjusting, because simply following the […]

  4. 36 | Alles uit de kast - August 9, 2016

    […] my 36th birthday (which was two weeks ago) I´ve given myself the permission to revise the list I made up last year and alter a few things, since we´re supposed to not only grow older, but also wiser every […]

Leave a Reply

